Day 19: Don’t Wind Down, Speed Up

The weather is getting warmer, the sun is taking longer to say goodnight, and my classroom is starting to take on the characteristics of a sauna…it must be close to the end of the school year!

I have found myself thinking about the end of June a lot this week. Perhaps it’s the crunch time of report card writing closing in, or the thinness of the school agenda as only weeks remain. There are a lot of things I want to try, and I am wondering if it is “worth it” for the time that is left. The obvious answer is yes.

I feel like the classroom is a laboratory, and I am constantly running experiments of engagement and creativity. What will provoke my students? What will connect with the learner who struggles to find value in an activity or assignment? I have this end-of-the year drive that has kicked in. I want to squeeze out as much as I can before it is over.

My biggest and latest project is redesigning the room…yes in May, I still don’t have it where I want it. The desks are coming out and the tables with flex seating will be arriving soon. My teacher desk is getting cut in half, and I want to paint as much surface area as possible in white board paint. So where is the time for this? I am not sure about that yet, but I know that I will find.

In my short lived track career back in grade 4, my teacher gave me the advice not to slow down when the finish line was coming up but to run full past it. The end of June is on the horizon, time to speed up.

Leave a Reply

