Day 49: Feedback over Grades

The grade on the bottom of a page doesn’t have any meaning. The process to achieve that grade does. This is why I feel grades provide only a small reflection of progress and achievement.

I am currently finishing up my math AQ part 1, and find the grade itself doesn’t provide any constructive feedback necessary for improvement. 

I don’t have enough time today to give my full thoughts as I am writing report cards. My favourite portion of the report card is the learning skills. Over the years I have moved away from banked comments and have written them in a narrative form. 

Each student receives personalized learning skills based on their term. They take a lot longer but I find this is more valuable then any N, S, G, E  or I, R, D, C, B, or A that is on there…

Leave a Reply

