Day 93: Find Your Challenger

I am fortunate to be surrounded by a group of dedicated educators who are compassionate, passionate, and driven when it comes to their pedagogy. I have learned that I have two choices when discussing pedagogy with colleagues:

1) Take it personally and risk the opportunity to gain another insight that could enhance my own perspective.

OR

2) Listen and engage critically in discussion, understanding that the one of the great strengths of my profession is the unique approaches that are out there.

The 1st option is that of a fixed mindset and limited, how boring would it be if everyone just agreed. I would be dishonest if I didn’t tell you I started off as the 1st option, I think it’s a common approach in the early years. Teachers college I found was very positive, but I could have benefited from more critical partnerships.

You want to make sure you surround yourself with those who will support you, and understanding that support sometimes looks like challenges and questioning your approaches. 

The important key to always remember is not to take it personally, take it professionaly. 

Leave a Reply

